Category:Achtkarspelen, Nederland

From WalkTracker Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Achtkarspelen, Nederland, is a municipality in Friesland in the northern Netherlands.


The name Achtkarspelen, literally meaning "eight parishes", is derived from the original eight parishes within the grietenij, namely: Augustinusga, Buitenpost (the capital), Drogeham, De Kooten, Kortwoude, Lutkepost, Surhuizum and Twijzel. Achtkarspelen held a separate status within Friesland for many years. In the Middle Ages Achtkarspelen fell under the Bishopric of Münster, meanwhile the rest of Friesland was a part of the Bishopric of Utrecht.

The grietenij Achtkarspelen became a municipality in 1851 as a result of the Municipality Act of Minister of the Interior Johan Rudolph Thorbecke.


At this page you would find hikes in this place.

External link

Pages in category "Achtkarspelen, Nederland"

The following 2 pages are in this category, out of 2 total.